Supporting democratic progress in Ukraine.

IFES Ukraine

The International Foundation for Electoral Systems

Central Election Commission Establishes the Final Result of the 2019 Presidential Election

On April 30, the Central Election Commission (CEC) established the final result of the 2019 presidential election and declared Volodymyr Zelenskyi (Servant of the People Party) the winner with 73.22 percent of the vote cast in the second round on April 21. The incumbent President Petro Poroshenko received 24.45 percent, with 2.32 percent of invalid votes. In terms of their share of the valid vote, Zelenskyi received 74.96 percent against Poroshenko’s 25.04 percent.

Thus, the CEC exhausted the full ten day period envisaged by law to receive and approve DEC result tabulation protocols in hard copy, review any complaints and decisions on them before announcing the final result of the election and issuing its official results protocol. The CEC protocol confirms the preliminary results. According to the Presidential Election Law, the results must be published in Holos Ukrainy and Ur’adovyi Courier newspapers within the next three days. Once the result is officially published, the 30 days countdown for the inauguration of the new President commences (Art. 87.1 of the Presidential Election Law). According to the regulation, it is the Verkhovna Rada that sets the date for the inauguration based on a submission of the speaker of parliament. The inauguration takes place at a ceremonial session of the Verkhovna Rada. The speaker must consult the timing, the list of invitees and other organizational details of the ceremony with the president-elect and the Chairperson of the Constitutional Court.

The President will assume office and powers when he takes the oath before the people of Ukraine at the ceremonial session of the Verkhovna Rada. The CEC will issue the newly elected President of Ukraine his certificate as President after he has been sworn in. The inauguration ceremony will be broadcast live on nationwide television and radio channels, including the public broadcaster.